Sweet hydrangea

Goddess of winter

how subtle and yet strong

you defy the cold and the storm

your petals glisten

when rimed with frost

delicate lacework when kissed by the sun

my fingers reach out

to touch your brittle soul

for soon it will be gone

strong buds

impatient in their youthful eagerness

herald the much longed-for season:

Spring!

_MG_6775-16-01This winter my most cherished flowers for the vase were those of Hydrangea paniculata. I must admit I love them even more in winter when the light caresses their delicate flowers, emphasizing every little detail that so often goes unnoticed. I spend a lot of time capturing their beauty in different ways. Thanks to dear Cathy for hosting the Vase on a Monday meme – visit her and be inspired by all that creativity. Happy Monday and have a great week!