Welcome to the new year and another vase on a Monday, the inspiring meme hosted by the charming Cathy! This week my vase features the fruit of ivy which never fails to fascinate me…or the birds and bees for that matter. The flowers are highly fragrant and if you have an ivy in your garden (it’s a must!), you know the humming at flowering time when wasps, hornets, hoverflies, bumblebees, red admirals, small tortoiseshells and peacock butterflies, and other late-flying insects, come to drink the nectar.
Later birds, such as blackbirds and thrushes, eat the berries or the likes of me pinch some for decorating. Ivy also offers shelter at nesting time – a truly wonderful plant! Only nature can create something as beautiful and perfect as this fruit! So why can’t I come up with an appropriate title? Hmmm…what about ‚having a ball‘? Well, in any case I do hope you had a ball over the festive season, but not too big a ball, just a modest, happy one. 😉 Wishing you all the best in 2017! Don’t forget to visit Cathy’s blog to check out all the other vases of my talented blogger friends.

_mg_4440-16-12

Merken

